Education for all is the catchword of the day. This slogan presumes the easy accessibility of higher education to all and sundry . With that end in view , and also for the sake of sustaining cultural and economic development of the area , Deshapran Educational Society , comprising of the enlightened and pro-humanitarian people of Durmuth , Block -III , decided in 2010 to establish a college in the area . the name of the proposed college “Deshapran Mahavidyalaya ” was choosen by consensus .
Much before Deshabandhu Chittaranjan Das ” Deshapran” Birendranath Sasmal (1881-1934) , born at Chandiveti under Contai or Kanthi was the first relinquish the roaring practice of a Barrister at the High Court Of calcutat in pursuance of the Non-Co-operation Movement , he led the ” No. Tax “( Tax Boycott ) Movement in Midnapore district to an unprecedented success and was recognized as the uncrowned King of Midnapore district to an unprecedented success and was recognized as the uncrowned King of Midnapore and earned different honourable titles like “Deshapran ” etc. for his noble and undaunted heart and uncompromising struggle for the people of Midnapore district and in a broader spectrum for the freedom of India . He was an ardent votary of true knowledge and as such was the automobile choice to lend one of his titles for christening the College .
It is superfluous to say that many people from different section of the society came forward to give shape to such a noble idea . Some of them are Mr. Chakradhar Maikap , the Ex. Hon’ble Minister-in-charge ( Technical Education ) Govt . of West Bengal , Mr. Shailaja Kr. Das , Ex-MLA , Dr. Dipak Kumar Tamili , Principal of Egra Sarada -Sashibhusan College , Mr. Swapan Kumar Maity , Gram Pradhan of Durmuth Gram Panchayat , Mr. Shymal Kumar Das , Upa-Pradhan of the same , Mr. Kalipada Shit , Member of Zilla Parishad , Mr. Shyamsundar Panda , Mr. Sitendu Kumar Maity at aila .
Among the following enthustic persons stated above Mr. Prabhat kr. Tamili , the (emeritus ) Headmaster of Bathuari Adarsha Vidyapith deserves special mention . He donated Rs. 9 lakhs in cash and with out the amount it was not possible for the interested people to fulfil his dream at the initial stage . The financial pre-condition for recognisation of the college was mostly favoured by this sizeable do0nation & donation for the construction of two college rooms / Hall to prepetuate the memory of his parents . The Ex. Hon’ble Minister Mr. Chakradhar Maikap , granted Rs. 41 Lakhs from his M.L.A. Quota , the Govt. of West Bengal a grant amounting to Rs. 50 lakh and Mr. sitaram Yachuri , MP( Rajyasava) responded to our appeal and also sanctioned a grant amounting to Rs. 50 lakh for the purpose of development of the college.
The college is situated about 2 kms. north from the Contai town , near the Durmuth Bus stand , on the Contai Mecheda Road and In an ideal and idyllic ambience in a terrain of about six acres of land , appointed by the Government of West Bengal . The Higher Education Department of the State Government & Vidyasagar University accorded necesary permission of Deshapran Mahavidyalaya on 13th and 21th September respectively .
Prof. Sudarshan Roy Chawdhuri , Ex. Hon’ble Minister-In-Charge ( Higher Education ) laid the foundation stone of the college on 26/01/2011 in the august presence of former Hon’ble Vice-Chancellor , Prof. Swapan kumar Pramanik and some Departmental officers of the Govt. and of Vidyasagar University .
Initially the college was run and nourished at Durmuth Chandberia Adarsha Vidyapith . Only on 11.11.2011 the college started operating in its newly constructed building . The college authority thankfully remembers the contribution of school committee , the Headmaster and all staffs , who responded enthusiastically to its appeal and lent unreserved co-operation to the college personnels for its smooth sailing . The kind gestures of the Headmaster Mr. Mriganka Moula Maity and Prof. Bishnupada Pradhan , the first Teacher-In-Charge of the college demand special mentioned.
Although the post of the whole time princiapls and professors of different departments have been sanctioned in comformity with the rules , the college service commission is yet to recommend names to fill in the vacant posts . However , the college authority in the interest of students , has arranged to cater to their academic needs . The Teacher-In-Charge , Govt. approved part time teachers and temporary teachers have been carrying on their sacred mission to their best ability and to the satisfaction of all concerned .
Since the very first year of its inception , a well-furnished library , which by itself is designated as a University by Carlyle , is in operation and it is going to be enriched further in accordance with the decision already taken up by the authority to this effect .
According to the University Rules , at present Internal assessment for general courses and Hons courses are being conducted . In order to boost interest in Higher Education among the poor and meritorious students they are given concessions with the rule in existence.
It is a matter of gratification that many educated persons have contributed generously to the college Development Fund and many others have promised to do so in near future . The college authority offers thanks to all these personages and their charity will be acknowledged in a booklet to be published shortly . We also appeal to all concerned that any help from any quarter to the cause of the College will be thankfully received .
The Vidyasagar university authority , as per statutory provision has constituted Ad-hoc Governing Body for Deshapran Mahavidyalaya only on and from 06.09.2012 after dissolution of the Organising Committee working so-far .Be it mentioned further that Mr. Sisir Adhikari , Hon’ble Ex-Minister , Govt. Of India and Chairman Digha Shankarpur Development authority was kind enough to inaugarate the ” Sarada-Arun Kashkha ” , a hall prepared in the memory of deceased parents of Mr. Prabhat Kr. Tamili , out of his finance released at the very inception of the college . Hon’ble Vice-chancellor of Vidyasagr University Prof. Ranjan Chakraborty graced the inauguration ceremony as the guest in chief and members of the previous organising committee were also present .
The college authority earnestly seeks financial assistances from local public representatives and also from the Government for all round development of the academy schedules & infrastructure of the institution established after the name of Great Patriot personality Deshapran Birendranath Sasmal .